Fujian Medical University is at present the only university of modern medical science in Fujian Province. It is located at the foot of Wushi Hill in the center of Fuzhou city. The campus covers about 170,100 square meters, with total construction space of 130,000 square meters. Founded in 1937, the university was initially named Fujian Provincial Medical School and changed to Fujian Provincial Medical College two years later. In 1949 it was named Fujian Medical College. In April 1996, it was given its present name of Fujian Medical University with the approval of the State Education Commission.

Since its establishment the school has been bearing the responsibility of training the high-grade personnel of medicine and health and has fostered more than 20,000 graduates with BS degrees and associate degrees, over 200 post graduates and more than 10,000 adult and graduate students. Now the graduates can be found in medical and health circles at home and abroad. A number of well-known experts and scholars are constantly emerging.

Currently, FMU has two campuses, one in Shangjie and the other in Taijiang, covering roughly 876,710 sq m. The dormitories have a floor space of 379,000 sq m. The University boasts 10 affiliated hospitals (clinical medical colleges included), 26 clinical teaching-oriented hospitals, 18 colleges—Medical Basics College, Public Health College, College of Pharmacy, Nursing College, Stomological Medicine College, School of Medical Technology & Engineering, School of Humanities, Post-Graduate School, Overseas Education College, Adult Education College, Vocational Technology College, Continuing Education College, First Clinical College, Second Clinical Medical College, Union Clinical Medical College, Clinical Medical College of the Provincial Hospital, Clinical Medical College of Fuzhou General Hospital, and Straits College---and one department, Physical Education Department, offering 23 majors. And there’re 22 subjects entitled to confer doctoral degree, 59 subjects to confer master’s degree, two subjects to confer specialized master’s degree, in addition to a mobile post-doctoral research station. For now, it has an enrollment topping 20,000 students, of whom over 10,000 are undergraduates, and about 2,000 doctoral and master’s programs learners. The undergraduate programs are open to those from China’s 20 provinces, municipalities, autonomous regions, and the HK and Macao regions, as well as overseas Chinese and students with foreign citizenship.